Can you put a price on passion?

I thought I’d share something more personal than professional – just to show my readers that I am more human than artificial. Sounds crazy, but if you don’t tear up even a little after reading this, it’s you who may be artificial in the end. By the way, Lauren Mote is in love, and really wants to share it with the world.

I have come to realize that talent, passion, personality, drive and spirit seldom come as a package deal.
One usually has some sociopathic tendency to float to one end of the spectrum while leaving the other side with a large void…
What happens when you meet someone that DOES have all of these things? Do you let pre-conceived notions get in the way? Perhaps it’s a mirror-image phenomenon. Question: what if you are so comfortable and aware of yourself that you realize you yourself are exactly the same? Question: is it freaky to find out that you might have the ability to DO, BE or ACCOMPLISH anything you want together? The brain’s craving for knowledge matched with the heart’s craving for love, passion and fulfillment can create connections you seldom thought possible.

Imagine an accidental meeting develops into something.
Imagine an encounter you least expected transforms into something even bigger.
As if to say ingredients in a pantry viewed by the right person in the right way transform into the perfect dish, just as the
gentle spirits balanced with their counterpoints and ideal matches create a psychedelic experience in your mouth, the same can be said of the feeling we get through complete and utter fulfillment. How can you possibly let a feeling so strong dissipate into a missed opportunity?

For the better part of 10 months I have lived in a complete state of chaos. Not that my life was failing in any way, in fact just the opposite. Like a tortured writer publishes an epic best selling story through the motivation of emotional strife, I too channeled all of my anger and emotional disappointment into building a thriving, successful business from nothing. At the time, I felt happy. Always smiling. I didn’t feel sad. I was simply dealing with loneliness, and the frequent craving for destruction – by destruction I mean the energetic madness of constant drinking, partying, and just overall bad judgment calls. Bad judgment that almost cost me my job twice. Its really hard when one goes through an emotional roller-coaster to just “snap out of it”. It’s increasingly tough to distinguish between hindsight rationality and forward thinking. I found as more time passed, my erratic party lifestyle was finally diminishing. I have always made sure to put others first, and worry about me afterwards – a mother-goose type syndrome that led me into this situation in the first place. There’s a big difference between being a great role model and leading by example. The former I excel at.

As I continue to channel my energy into the controllables in my life – work, family, friends, and passion – I see now that I am my first love. Always. Moving forward I am the one who changes the world. I too can change thinking, concepts and behaviour, and create something truly special. All the while as I’m being inspired by the right people.

In order for me to be truly happy in every aspect, I must move past this fear of committing to the wrong jobs, wrong situations and wrong relationships. Wrong just doesn’t exist anymore because I’m strong. I always have been. I nurture myself daily, but seldom see the things I’m missing. Now, I see everything. How often do I stop on a street and smell the flowers? Many, many, many times a day.

Being in the unique position of strength in every way, I find it interesting and ironic that I have developed a weakness. It’s written all over my grinning face, and I wouldn’t change it for the world.

About Lauren Mote

Lauren has been an intricate part of the food industry for many years. Whether it’s behind the bar, in the kitchen, tasting and learning about wine, or sitting with her laptop writing food stories and reviews at the local coffee house, it was clear at an early age that Lauren’s professional and personal life would be completely consumed by the joy and passion of edibles.
This entry was posted in Default Category - No Reason. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Can you put a price on passion?

  1. degan says:

    that’s so awesome, laurls. I’m so happy for you.

    *loves you*
    ~d.

  2. jcsaucey says:

    Everytime I read this I smile and know I found the woman of my dreams.

  3. me says:

    Everything you’ve said is so very very true and I’m so happy for you. :D
    xo

  4. me says:

    Oh. Sorry – that last comment was by colleen. forgot how I was logged in. :)

  5. Celena says:

    Lauren…wow…this article really moved me. Your writing is amazing. Keep doing what your doing. You are definitely one of my role models. Very inspiring. xo

    • Lauren Mote says:

      thanks for reading – it’s amazing how food, diet and lifestyle have put me in a position to write like that. open, honest, loving, forgiving and passionate – content in all aspects i suppose. i am honoured that i am a role model for you – i will try my hardest not to screw that up! how’s the book? awesome?

      • Celena says:

        the book is awesome. between the book, blogs, twitter, FB, etc..I am all over the place. I love it! I also like reading your material because the study of Rawfood (for me)can become almost obsessive and all consuming. I find everything you write about is still relative to raw, but expands on so many different facets. Even though I’m vegan, live, raw, I’m still passionate about ALL food and beverage. Even just reading about it is satisfying. Thanks for that.

  6. John says:

    Lauren – what a joy the web can be – to find such a bright shinning star living her passion.

    Reading your beautiful post made me think of Rumi and the The Privileged Lovers

    Namaste

    The Privileged Lovers

    The moon has become a dancer
    at this festival of love.
    This dance of light,

    This sacred blessing,
    This divine love,
    beckons us
    to a world beyond
    only lovers can see
    with their eyes of fiery passion.

    They are the chosen ones
    who have surrendered.
    Once they were particles of light
    now they are the radiant sun.

    They have left behind
    the world of deceitful games.
    They are the privileged lovers
    who create a new world
    with their eyes of fiery passion.

Leave a Reply

