Ready, set, spring. Part 1

by Lauren Mote

In this “several” post series, I intend to share with you the reasons why I am always smiling – and trust me, this goes above and beyond the nod of sunshine that gives me a few more freckles. Let’s chat more about major photosynthesis/sunshine craving creatures – plants and animals.

The Food:

Nothing makes me happier then going to a market that not only promotes local produce and products, but they’re excitedly busy. This means that I’m not the only one thrilled to be part of the healing power of pure “in your own backyard” sustenance.  If I find that several local items are frequently unavailable, that doesn’t mean there isn’t a greenhouse around here, or in the interior that is producing. Organic is another happy thought – in the event that I cannot get what I want in a local item, I am just as happy using a product from abroad providing that their practices are sustainable, logical and sanitary.

I would like to post my happiest home-cooked experiences by Johnny, my cousin Eden, and myself in the last few days, and also make mention that we have renounced sugar for the duration.

The Meals:

Day 1: (frequent snacking on raw nuts, fruit and vegetables throughout the day)

Breakfast: homemade granola (literally I mean it was made in my kitchen), with organic strawberries, and local yogurt with natural probiotocs.

Lunch: Ramen noodles, with egg, bean sprouts, cabbage, and pork.

Dinner: Local fresh halibut, lightly seared in olive oil, with warm golden nugget potato salad – arugula walnut pesto (garlic, basil, arugula, walnuts, olive oil, parmesan, salt, pepper); with cherry tomato salsa (cilantro, serrano chilies, shallots, mini cucumbers, lemon juice, salt, pepper).

Day 2: (frequent snacking on raw nuts, fruit and vegetables throughout the day)

Breakfast: homemade granola (literally I mean it was made in my kitchen), with organic strawberries, and local yogurt with natural probiotocs.

Lunch: Leftover tomato salsa and crackers.

Dinner: Alberta AAA beef tenderlion (rub/marinade of toasted coriander seeds, smoked paprika, garlic, salt, pepper – using mortar & pestle) sliced thinly, with warm golden nugget potato salad – parsley, lemon juice, garlic; with ratatouille (yellow and red peppers, zucchini, garlic, tomatoes, olive oil, salt, pepper) and a fresh herb salad.

yum!

On Friday, I will post another “2 days-journal” of great eats, with a little more variation.

Visit farmer’s markets frequently www.eatlocal.org, and a number of other local vendors/purveyors listed on the food sources page for more ideas, and get happy about sunshine again.

About Lauren Mote

Lauren has been an intricate part of the food industry for many years. Whether it’s behind the bar, in the kitchen, tasting and learning about wine, or sitting with her laptop writing food stories and reviews at the local coffee house, it was clear at an early age that Lauren’s professional and personal life would be completely consumed by the joy and passion of edibles.
This entry was posted in Default Category - No Reason., food, recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ready, set, spring. Part 1

  1. Pingback: Ready, set, spring. Part 1

Leave a Reply

