Open 24/7

by Lauren Mote

The problem with moving out of province to a new place, and it could be anywhere, Delaware, France or Banff, is that you always trade in the familiarities of home for the uncertainty of your new home, with open arms.

Today I am celebrating one month is this fair province, BC.

Since I have been here, Johnny and I have had some incredible dinners, great walks, and re-kindled relationships that were lost until now… for any length of time.

Last weekend my good pal Cory came from Calgary to hang out. We immediately decided a restaurant go at Vij’s for some delicious Indian food was in the cards. I ordered all signature menu items to better understand what the vision of Owner and Chef Vij was, as well as recommending or disapproving the flagship dishes for others to try. Stay tuned for the restaurant review on www.poivremedia.ca .

Is anyone jealous that Starbucks sells and heats up delicious egg, sausage/peppered bacon and cheese sandwiches on english muffin for $3.25? Johnny and I are strangely addicted to sharing one every three days.

We decided that once a week we would spend time and money trying one fabulous restaurant this city has to offer. There are so many cool-concept restaurants you’d swear you could hear yourself getting chunky.

British Columbia is the home to so many great outdoor activities, all of which we haven’t tried yet, unless that includes walking to the bus, walking all over town, or walking from the cab to the restaurant hostess stand. The walk up and down Davie St. back and forth from the European Delicatessen, the Farmer’s Market (20 lbs of fresh BC fruit and veg = $15!) and Cobb’s Bakery has proved extremely enjoyable with our large array of cloth bags housing delicious items we can barely wait to try! The granite peninsula in our kitchen quickly becomes the sampling buffet before things are ziploc’ed and stored.

My sheer lack of interest in the gym right now has caused some kind of flux in my everyday life. The weather causes me to lay in bed for the better part of the day staring at the rain, or drinking a monster pot of 49th Parallel Organic Coffee with Johnny to maintain the “high”. Apparently weather related mood disorders in VanCity are not unheard of, and therefore we all go completely unnoticed by those who should ask if “we’re feeling ok”…. someone said Vitamins’ A through D are great investments.

There is no such thing as a diet for the foodie either. Tonight I took our good friend Andrea to Blue Water Cafe & Raw Bar in Yaletown for dessert to help her adjust to turning 21… awww. Andrea had the Raspberry Semifreddo with Ouzo sorbet and Vanilla Sugar emulsion. I had the lemon scented Crème Brulée with Pineapple Carpaccio and Basil Sorbet. Delicious.

The other thing I noticed is that restaurants are really super competitive here. Most “cool” restaurants, deemed the “place to be” have free valet parking 7 days a week, an interesting house cocktail list and superhuman back and front of house staff. The amount of wine, beer and spirit knowledge these people possess gives me a warm feeling in my liver. Blue Water has 123 scotches on the five tier window ledge, and 34 whiskeys, ranging from pure to blended, bourbon to rye. The vintage MacCallan 1966 looked interesting, but I am not a liquid saw-dust lover.

So, I guess the long-winded, ADD point of this story is that in a town like this, there is never enough time to do everything you want in a day. When I am feeling blue I grab a house brewed coffee and a hand-crafted snack. When I am too tired to move I stay in bed. It’s one of the only places where it’s not raining yet.

I guess we should try and get out and do something BC-like. Climb a mountain, go fishing, buy matching Burberry umbrellas, visit Whistler, Victoria, or Galiano Island – where a friend of mine told me they have the best granola on the planet – sadly, I can actually see myself going all the way to Galiano Island on a quest for the perfect granola. Until the sunshine comes again, I have decided to trade in British Columbia for food, culture and desserts, and loads and loads of butter cream.

By the way, I think my meringue obsession has now passed. All it takes is one failed meringue experience to crush your loyalties as an egg-white enthusiast.

Now I am really starting to sound like a food writer.

About Lauren Mote

Lauren has been an intricate part of the food industry for many years. Whether it’s behind the bar, in the kitchen, tasting and learning about wine, or sitting with her laptop writing food stories and reviews at the local coffee house, it was clear at an early age that Lauren’s professional and personal life would be completely consumed by the joy and passion of edibles.
This entry was posted in food, restaurants, stories, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

